I Blinked and It was Fall

14 Oct

I blinked and it was fall.

One minute I was tanning in the lovely garden next to my building and the next minute I was regretting only wearing two layers of shirts biking across the Mass Ave bridge to work.

One minute I was visiting family in Pennsylvania, running around outside in short sleeves, and the next minute we were buying pumpkins and gourds and corn husks for my grandma.

One minute I was wearing as little as possible in my gym, trying to stand as close to an oscillating fan as possible, and the next minute I’m contemplating long sleeves and full length workout pants.

One minute I was excited for a long Labor Day weekend of fun and sun and the next minute I am thinking about what fun dishes to make for Thanksgiving and Christmas.

I’m not complaining. I love fall. But the passing of time does make me pause and contemplate the brevity of each season. The quick thought of “it’s almost summer” followed by a blink and “we’re in the midst of  summer” and a deep exhale of “summer went by so fast.”

I like to savor my favorite things. I much prefer looking at wrapped Christmas presents under the tree than unwrapping them.  The anticipation of fun events and memorable outings keeps workdays fun.  And fall? By January 1st, I’m already eager for September to November. Does everyone feel this way or is it the special curse and blessing of those us born and raised in New England?

I blinked and it was fall. And I jumped right in.

2 Responses to “I Blinked and It was Fall”

  1. Sarah Hussey October 14, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

    I do the same thing!! I look forward to each season, I do think it is partly a New England thing… Fall is so beautiful here! I love the colors, the warm days and nice cool nights for sleeping… I love watching football, a cozy fire in the fire place… I love summer too, but one thing I enjoy about fall and winter is that you can always add more layers of clothing on… in the HOT summer days, you can only take so much off 😛 I enjoy working out in the fall better too, for that reason. I don’t like being so hot that I feel faint 😛 Winters can be a bit long though here in New England!!!

    • ezelie October 16, 2013 at 10:57 am #

      Definitely a New England thing! Not having any fall or snow when I lived in England was hard for me. Felt a little depressed.

Leave a Reply

