The Man Who Lived on His Bike

6 Feb

If you want to see a man living on his bike for 382 days, go here:

The Man Who Lived on His Bike

Showering. Shaving. Eating. Checking his email. You name it, he did it while biking. It was a grand gesture in support of a cause. The sort of big gesture that gets a lot of publicity and followers and “Likes” on Facebook.

There’s nothing wrong with big gestures.  They can be pretty important in garnering support or proving allegiance or proposing marriage.  (Which are all basically the same thing, now that I think about it…)

But this year I am finding joy in the small gestures.

The security guard who doesn’t treat me like a nameless employee but greets me by name with a smile every single day.

The coworker who manages to work Dumb and Dumber and The Office Space quotes into a Monday lunch.  Laughing at a Monday is highly underrated.

The busboy who patiently explains some of the hidden rules of expensive restaurant waitstaff etiquette.

The engineer who accepts it good-naturedly when he asks what “his” chapter will be titled when I write a book about engineers someday.  It’s going to be called “The Engineer who couldn’t close a deal.”  It basically explains his entire life.

The handwritten card in the mail with a photo from a fun December memory.

Ibuprofen being hand-delivered to my desk when I put out an SOS.

My Tuesday-night-house-guest keeping me fed with Panera salads and Mexican burritos and Thai dishes (I eat well on Tuesdays!)

The emails.  The texts.  Even the boys who, in their attempt to make me laugh, go a tad too far.  The woman who held our apartment door open as I carried my bike in. The race official who decided I deserved entrance to the beer tent without an official bib. The friend who stayed up watching the Super Bowl with me even though he’d worked a double-shift and neither team was his. The maintenance worker who kicked my bathroom door down to rescue the Southern-damsel-in-distress.  A Mom who drives the getaway car after I commit a murder (ok, that was only in my dreams).

None of these moments will be featured on YouTube.  Probably very few are even remembered by those involved. Except me.  Small gestures need to be acknowledged because if I had to choose, say, 1 big gesture a year or a myriad of small gestures every single day, I’d want the latter.

So if you don’t have the time or energy or desire to live on your bike or your roof or your toilet seat or the top of a very tall pillar, don’t despair.  Keep it simple.  Keep it small. It still counts.

 

One Response to “The Man Who Lived on His Bike”

  1. Meg February 7, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    YES!

Leave a Reply

