Adultery Sunday

14 Nov

When I first moved to England, I got given a list of jobs to own.

One of them was helping with the children’s work on Sundays.  The lessons had already been chosen for the first few months.  We were studying the Ten Commandments.  Which sounds nice (one commandment per week, easy peasy).  Until I saw the roster.

I had been given “Adultery Sunday” (as I affectionately refer to it).  Or Adultery Sunday School (also known as ASS) by some of my coworkers.

Has anyone attempted to teach “Thou shalt not commit adultery” to 4 and 5 year olds?  Does anyone even think there is any value in teaching that particular lesson to 4 to 5 year olds?

My coworkers had a lot of fun with my assignment. I’ve never been given so much help (note the sarcasm) before. They came up with all kinds of “adultery” games we could play.  And “adultery” crafts.  I’m a little relieved no one had an idea for an adultery snack.

In fact, Adultery Sunday was a huge success (unfortunately?).  We talked about making “forever promises” and how promising to do something “to be a good kid” or “to clean my room” doesn’t just happen automatically, it involves hard work and sometimes sacrificing other things you want to do.  So maybe I didn’t fully explain the concept but I’m pretty sure no parents minded.

Sometimes, you have to take what you’ve been given as a task and change it to fit the situation.  You’re asked to present on something that you’re not quite passionate about so you tweak the topic to satisfy both requirements. You have to write a school paper so you find a thesis that allows you to research something you’re already fascinated by.  Your kid doesn’t like reading.  So you get them hooked on comic books (better than nothing!).

Everyone has their Adultery Sunday – a task  you immediately assume will be a complete flop  but ends up being a great success.  You just didn’t know it was called an Adultery Sunday.

2 Responses to “Adultery Sunday”

  1. specializingintheimpossible November 14, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Sounds like you did good! Wouldn’t mind you teaching my kiddos that lesson 😉 ….if I had any 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Joey November 15, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    Hahaha! I can just imagine your fellow impacters giving you a super-hard time!

Leave a Reply

