Today is Face Mask Day…and

1 Nov

Some days feel ordinary – the same old work and laundry and groceries and emails.
And some days feel awful – false accusations, unexpected bills, long commuting delays.
And a select few days feel very good – a race completed, a new baby born, a work project completed.

But the hidden truth is that every day is special.

I like hockey.  On this day in 1959, the first ever hockey mask was worn by a Montreal goalie.

And I like Boston. On this day in 1848, the first all women’s medical school opened in Boston.

And I like making fun of weathermen.  On this day in 1870, the U.S. Weather Bureau made its first weather observations.

My brother-in-law loves the Celtics. On this day in 1850, the first black man to play in the NBA (Charles Cooper) played in a Boston Celtics lineup.

I adore bridges.  On this day in 1957, the Mackinac Straits Bridge in Michigan opened. At the time, it was the world’s longest suspension bridge.

I like movies.  On this day in 1968, the current movie rating system went into effect.

I don’t like taxes.  And on this day in 1765, the first taxation on the American colonies (the Stamp Act) began.

But the thing I’m most excited about is that, in 1512, Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel ceiling was shown to the public for the first time ever.

I may be a history nerd. Okay, I am a history nerd. But trying to imagine people viewing the Sistine Chapel for the first time ever (not having studied it in school, not having seen replicas of it) is very cool.

Which makes today cool.  And which makes me want to add my own special memories to November 1st.

On this day in 2011, I went to Spooky World at Fenway Park and managed to not cry while being surrounded by creepy clowns.  (I’m pretty sure Spooky World went out and hired all the scary people in my city that I spend my days avoiding and then convinced me to to spend money to let them scare me in costume). And it was all worth it when I got to stand on the park turf and look at the evening lights of Fenway and that perfectly lush green grass. It gave me hope for next season.  Both for my Red Sox and for my clown phobia.

Not quite the Sistine Chapel.  But still, something special…

One Response to “Today is Face Mask Day…and”

  1. John reder November 17, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Hi there,I enjoy reading through your article post, I wanted to write a little comment to support you and wish you a good continuation. All the best for all your blogging efforts.
    Appreciate the recommendation! Let me try it out.
    Keep working ,great job!

Leave a Reply

