Papelbon and the Big Black Bruise

19 Sep

Last spring, I met Papelbon, the Red Sox closer, under decidedly awkward circumstances.

Thanks to getting hit by a car six months before and then doing a lot of strenuous running and biking, I ended up in physical therapy with a specialized football injury (go me!).  The PT decided to use Graston Technique to try to loosen some of my connective tissue since it had fused itself to the bone (go me!).  However, due to really odd circumstances for which I don’t blame the PT, the technique was done on my leg for 30 minutes when it really should only have lasted for 10.

That last sentence was hard to write without getting bitter.  On one hand, I think the Graston worked because I am injury free and running and biking up a storm.  On the other hand, it hurt more than is appropriate to discuss on a blog. They warned me to “tell them when I couldn’t take it anymore” and they’d stop.  At one point, I went to open my mouth because I couldn’t take it anymore, not even for one more second, and nothing came out.  Then I realized I was about to scream (my PT worked out of a gym, this would have been embarrassing) or throw up (ditto).  So I buried myself in my subconscious and tried not to pass out.

Later, when the mistake was realized – timer being set for 30 minutes, not 10 – the PT told me it was going to be very painful and bruise very quickly.  15 minutes later, my leg was black.  Like I dipped it in a vat of ink.

That night, hobbling home from my MBA class, I came across a friend who started asking me about the PT. Her husband trains for triathlons so she can relate to a lot of what I was going through.

I decided to hike up my skirt to show her the really big nasty bruise. I realize this shows a certain lack of modesty, especially since I was on a Fenway sidewalk and showing a lot more thigh than I do when I wear bike shorts.  Pain does that to you. You know how women show off their babies but they really just want to talk about the pain of pregnancy that they wear as a badge of honor? Same thing.

So I lifted my skirt and then a guy, holding a tiny baby boy, jumped up from a neighboring outdoor restaurant table and said “Holy s**t, that’s a badass bruise!”  (Just reporting it like it happened.)

It was Papelbon.  As you can rightly imagine, my pride of pain grew.  I’m assuming baseball players experience bruises? All that sliding into base MUST leave its mark.  So I felt like he was an appropriate source to validate my pain and subsequent bruising.

That was last year.

This year, I am still bruised.  Maybe it’s not physical (my leg is a nice flesh tone now) but there’s quite a lot of psychological bruising due to this September Slump.  I’m not blaming Papelbon.  I’m definitely not blaming Pedroia.  If I had  to blame someone, I’d probably settle on L-Squared.  That used to stand for Lackey & Lester.  It now stands for Legit at Losing.

Papelbon and Co., I sat through wet and freezing April games.  I flew to Philly to watch the “World Series preview” games.  I paid for my first Red Sox vs Yankees tickets.  I put a smile on my face every game day, even though I live next to Yawkey Way and it can sometimes be annoying with all the crowds and no parking and lots of debris and late night booing and cheering and drinking.  I did my bit.

Why aren’t you doing yours? There are slumps due to exhaustion.  Slumps due to bad luck. Slumps due to injury. Slump implies we are in a low spot but will soon head towards higher ground.

I’m now doubting there is higher ground.

To quote Papelbon, “Holy s**t, that’s a badass slump.”  And not badass in the “actually this is awesome” sense.  “Badass” in the sense that these “September Spankings” need to stop now.  Or Fenway will look just like any other city area come October.  Except more morose.

Leave a Reply

