Whole Wheat Bagels Mate For Life

31 Aug

Sometimes, the strangest things come out of my mouth.

A coworker said there were only 2 whole wheat bagels in the cafeteria and he felt bad separating them.

I nodded and said “Whole wheat bagels mate for life.”

I’m still laughing.  I enjoy cracking myself up (even if everyone else is giving me quizzical looks).  I blame my brother’s influence.  He’s hilarious.  Famously Arrogant Statement #2 of my childhood “No one can make ME laugh but me!” has been disproved time and time again by him, the older brother, the golden standard in wit.

(Famously Arrogant Statement #1 of childhood has still not been disproved.)

I hate feeling boxed in.  I don’t want to be defined by one word.  I don’t want to be viewed as just sister or daughter, athletic or hyperactive, intelligent or studious, silly or intense, Type A or rambunctious, serious or intellectual, busy or lethargic (someone called me that today, haha!).

I hate feeling unique.  I don’t want to be viewed as unusual – although I’m beginning to embrace the title of Maverick.  I used to view the nickname negatively, but over time, it has begun to become comfortable and familiar. I want to be a maverick.  Defined by the fact that I can’t be labeled and boxed and categorized.

That’s human nature, right?  We want to fit in AND we want to be unique. We want to be a bagel, like all the other bagels (when it is convenient).  And we want to be a cinnamon raisin bagel with 22 raisins (when someone who hates raisins is deciding which one to ingest).

The truth is that we are both.  Completely unique and full of very laughable and generic human traits.  We can identify with each other…to a point.  And we can make people laugh or scratch their heads or assess us quizzically when we spout things like “Whole wheat bagels mate for life.”

(Btw, It may be true. I’ve yet to be disproved.  This may be Famously Odd Statement #???? from my adulthood.)

 

2 Responses to “Whole Wheat Bagels Mate For Life”

  1. meg September 1, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    what was the #1 statement from childhood?

  2. ezelie September 1, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    “I will never be ticklish again.”

Leave a Reply

