I’d Like a Side of Truth with That…

10 May

“I don’t want to hear what you think I want to hear. I just want to hear the truth.”

I’ve said this statement several times this week. 

When I ask for an update on a project, I don’t want to hear where you think we stand. I don’t want to hear where we will stand (by the end of the day – after you feverishly spend a few hours “catching up”).  I want to know where, at this present moment, the project is stalled. 

I don’t want to point fingers. I don’t want to force you to work long hours. I don’t want to put you on the spot.  But I need to know all the information in order to make any kind of accurate decision.  If you are behind in the term paper, maybe I can help you push it along.  If you are confused by my previous instructions, maybe I can be clearer. If your plate is fuller than it was when the project began, maybe I can shift some priorities and ease the load.

But can I do any of that without communication? And truthful communication? No.

It’s shocking how many people are scared of telling the truth.  So we fudge shopping bills and weight gained and evening plans and % of tasks accomplished and books read and grades received. Do we think we will be respected more?  Maybe.  Until the truth gets out.  Do we think we will appear more competent? Maybe. Until the truth gets out.

If you don’t box the truth in to begin with, you’ll never have to worry about it escaping.

So order a side of truth.  Or, if you’re feeling brave, turn it into a full meal.

Leave a Reply

